I loved her first.

August 10, 2010 at 2:49 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )

Father Watching His Infant Sleep

I’ve been listening to love songs on youTube recently (The twisted romance in the films for my Hispanic Cinema class left me desirous for a love more pure, even if only in song), but I’m pretty picky about the lyric content of what I listen to, so I pay attention.  In one playlist, I came across a song by Heartland called “I Loved Her First” (listen to it here with lyrics: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMC5ijcWMoQ).  The song is from the perspective of a father about his daughter who is getting married.  He tells the man involved “I was enough for her not long ago. I was her number one, she told me so, and she still means the world to me just so you know.  So be careful when you hold my girl.  ” Then the chorus goes: “I loved her first.  I held her first…From the first breath she breathed, when she first smiled at me, I knew the love of a father runs deep.”

I thought the song was very sweet, but the first thing that came to mind was who really loved her first: God.  David recognizes this in Psalm 139 when he says, “Your eyes saw my unformed body.  All the days ordained for me were written in Your book before one of them came to be,” (v 16).  And John writes, “This is how God showed His love among us: He sent his one and only son into the world, that we might live through Him,” (1 John 4:9).  So God loved us before we were even born, so much that He would give His son to die for us before we knew Him.  He died while we were yet sinners-before we loved Him back (Romans 5:8).  Now that is amazing love.  Why was I looking for it on youTube?

Yet so many long for another.  Songs like Natasha Bedingfield’s “Soulmate” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P27MPi3ZhCg) highlight this fact.  Marriages fall apart when spouses realize they can’t fulfill the other’s each and every need.  I can just imagine God singing, “I loved you first.  I held you first; before the first breath you breathed, before you smiled at me, because the love of your Father runs deep.”  He actually can fulfill our every need, “for God is greater than our hearts, and He knows everything,” (1 John 3:20).  Earthly love is good, but God’s love is even greater, in fact, His love is everlasting (Jeremiah 31:3).

Is God’s love enough for us?  Is He our “number one,” or are we searching instead for a lesser love?

3 Comments

  1. haywireproductions said,

    I am just re-reading Hosea, and Chapter 11 brings this idea to mind oh so clearly. The image of God as father to a wayward child is the metaphor God spoke through this prophet:

    1 When Israel was a child, I loved him,
    and out of Egypt I called my son.
    2 The more they were called,
    the more they went away;
    they kept sacrificing to the Baals
    and burning offerings to idols.
    3 Yet it was I who taught Ephraim to walk;
    I took them up by their arms,
    but they did not know that I healed them.
    4 I led them with cords of kindness,[a]
    with the bands of love,
    and I became to them as one who eases the yoke on their jaws,
    and I bent down to them and fed them.
    8 How can I give you up, O Ephraim?
    How can I hand you over, O Israel?
    How can I make you like Admah?
    How can I treat you like Zeboiim?
    My heart recoils within me;
    my compassion grows warm and tender.
    9 I will not execute my burning anger;
    I will not again destroy Ephraim;
    for I am God and not a man,
    the Holy One in your midst,
    and I will not come in wrath.
    10 They shall go after the Lord;
    he will roar like a lion;
    when he roars,
    his children shall come trembling from the west;
    11 they shall come trembling like birds from Egypt,
    and like doves from the land of Assyria,
    and I will return them to their homes, declares the Lord.

  2. Teri H said,

    So right. God loved us before anyone and he will love us long after we’re gone from this life. That’s very encouraging to me. Love songs aren’t because human love is imperfect. Thanks for the reminder.

Join the Discussion

