Wind beneath my wings…

August 24, 2010 at 6:50 pm (General) (, , , , , , , )

MP910216369It has gotten very windy these past few days in Ellensburg.  Strong gusts every few minutes keep you on your toes.  Just yesterday I was riding my bike on a sidewalk that winds through two tall buildings on campus.  A huge gust of wind suddenly blew exactly perpendicular to the direction of my travel, it caught in the spokes of the wheels, and it actually knocked me and my bike a few inches over on the path.  It was kind of scary, actually: the overpowering force.

Every time I find myself surrounded by a powerful gale I can’t help but feel overwhelmed by God.  As the wind blows around me, almost knocks me over, almost lifts me into the air, I feel God’s presence in my life.  “As [I] do not know the path of the wind, or how the body is formed in a mother’s womb, so [I] cannot understand the work of God” (Ecclesiastes 11:5).  Sometimes I take a moment to stand there with my eyes closed and I listen.  I feel like God communicates something to me through the wind.  “He makes the clouds His chariot and rides on the wings of the wind.  He makes the winds His messengers, flames of fire His servants” (Psalms 104:3-4).  It’s not usually a specific sentence that I hear.  It’s more like an overwhelming feeling.

I get the impression that if we could feel a piece of God’s indescribable love for us, it might feel something like the great gust of wind.  So strong and powerful that it almost knocks us over at the same time as it practically lifts us off the ground.  It’s invigorating, yet it can be terrifying.  Just as the wind’s awesome power is used to make energy with turbines, sometimes it falls trees and shakes the rafters to the point of striking fear into our lives.  “For love is as strong as death, it’s jealousy unyielding as the grave.  It burns like a blazing fire, like a mighty flame.  Many waters cannot quench love; rivers cannot wash it away” (Song of Solomon 8:6-7).  And God works through wind many times in the Bible giving life and Holy Spirit power (see for example Ezekiel 37:9 and Acts 2:2).  So I came to love the wind–as a reminder of the awe or fear-inspiring power and overwhelming force of God’s love and justice; sometimes refreshingly invigorating, sometimes dangerously destructive. Do you feel it?

2 Comments

  1. Resources for Psalms 104:3 - 4 said,

    […] 1Wind beneath my wings… « Awestruck Wonder SUBMIT […]

  2. jeremy said,

    Amazing to think of the breath of God bringing life; wind blown into dust that became man. Crazy.

Join the Discussion

