That’s bad…no…that’s good!

September 8, 2010 at 10:52 pm (General) (, , , , , , , )

sign

While attending PLU the first two years of college, I used mostly public transportation-45 minutes of bus ride, with several transfers. There were many, many frustrations over those months, but when I think back on one in particular, I smile every time.

It was a five-minute wait til my next bus would arrive, taking me the last leg of my journey home, and I really, really had to go potty. I had already passed the bus stop with a public restroom, so I was left dreading the antsy ride home. Until I spotted it… A restroom! I’d never seen this one before. Had they put in a public restroom recently?

I rushed over, praising God for His wonderful provision. Looking forward to sweet relief when…

Locked! What!? Why? Oh man! It must be an employee potty…

I turned around ready to mope back over to the bus stop only to see my bus pulling in early. Oh no! I ran over and caught it just in time. Gosh! If I’d actually gone into the restroom, even for 30 seconds, I would have missed my bus.  Thank God.

Wait…

Just a second ago I was trying to thank Him for providing that means which would have caused me to miss the bus. Indeed, I was confused at why He seemingly “took away” that which I’d just praised Him for…

Often in life, I think we are brought to moments of decision. Sometimes it seems as though many decisions are good. Which do we choose? Other times, what good decisions we think we have are somehow “taken” from us right at the point of decision. My transfer to Central, for those who know the details, was definitely one such decision, caused by last-minute changes to the “fail-safe” plan. In either situation I could have stood there and wallowed over my “loss,” and in so doing, I would have missed the true blessing God had for me.

My first thought takes me to Proverbs for this one: “Give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread. Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you and say ‘Who is the Lord?’ …” (30:9). Also, in Isaiah, “‘For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are my ways your ways,’ declares the Lord” (55:8) “They are deeper than the depths of the grave. What can you know?” (Job 11:8).

I’m reminded of history: Moses, David, Joseph… (Ex 2, 1 Sam 18-23, Gen 37-41, respectively) –See Hebrews 11 for more examples.

Through this silly experience, I am refreshed by the providence of God. When we think we know best, He often proves us wrong. So let’s praise God that He knows better for us than we do. His way is perfect (2 Sam 22:31); His plans for the big picture (Jer 29:11, Jn 10:10, Rom 8:28).

“How much more should we submit to the Father of our spirits and live!” (Heb 12:9).

4 Comments

  1. Chile – Day Six | Awestruck Wonder said,

    […] been cancelled, we would not have been there to take all those kids out of the way! Just another bus-stop-blessing. The crew leading the women’s workshop said that many good, tearful stories were shared and […]

  2. jeremy said,

    Yeah. What a cool comparison to seeing God’s hand in directing life. We so easily miss the bus (you almost actually did!) when we are running around complaining about God’s ways in life. His ways are higher than ours!

  3. Robyn Gunderson said,

    I like your story and allegory Kay! It’s humbling _and_ exciting to reflect and see God’s hand in areas where we didn’t realize He was directing all along, despite what things may have appeared to us at the time!

    You have a very nice writing style!

  4. ~Kay~ said,

    For those not old enough (ha!) to get the title: (Sam the Sham and the Pharaohs) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uheHQ23dTw4

Join the Discussion

