Look, God: One hand!

October 11, 2010 at 12:18 am (General) (, , , , , , , )

2036_bmxEarlier this week I rode my bike to work and someone offered me a can of soda. I don’t drink that much soda, and during my shift I consumed only half the can. I didn’t want to waste it, though, so when I mounted my bike, I just steered with one hand and held the open can in the other. No sweat. The problem was, with the quarter in full swing now, everyone was on the walkways. I managed pretty well until I found myself face-to-face with another biker around a corner…With only one hand on my handlebar, I didn’t have enough time to react. He screeched to a halt, and I veered out of control for a moment.

This got me thinking about other situations where I am holding on to something. I could have let go of the soda in my hand to better react to the situation, but in the moment I didn’t even consider that. Was I holding on too tightly? Was I too cocky, to think that I could maneuver my bike with only one hand, even in disaster? Perhaps the whole situation would have been avoided if I had my hands where they belong on the bike.

I wonder if there are times in my life when I try to be effective with only one hand. God has already told me what he expects of me (Ex 20, Mic 6:8, Lk 10:27). And perhaps there is a reason that the armor Paul writes about in Ephesians 6 requires both hands (utilizing shield and sword). I worry that, when the conflict comes, I won’t even consider what might be in my hands and what I should let go of to fight.

I’m so glad “[the grace of God] teaches us to say ‘No’ to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and Godly lives in this present age…” (Titus 2:12). For I cannot claim to be competent in myself, “but our competence comes from God. He has made us competent…” (2 Cor 3:5). I pray he helps us recognize and let go of anything that’s keeping us from our full effectiveness in Him– before we crash.

7 Comments

  1. Lori said,

    Wow Kayla! That was good and really made me think about things!! You are such a great writer!!

  2. Michael Stewart said,

    Very insightful post! It’s very true. Often, like children, we hold on to things tightly, refusing to let go. Some of these things are not detrimental to spiritual life, such as a spouse, friends, children, etc, but sometimes God calls us to let go. He has the best plan in mind, and He gives and takes away. Hard as this can be…I love the line from the song “Letting Go” by Audrey Assad: “If everything is Yours, I’m letting it go…it was never mine to hold.”

  3. Mary French said,

    NIce reflection, Kayla. I find that that it’s those times when I’ve had unconfessed sins in my life that keep my from being effective – by weighing me down, diminishing my relationship with God, and providing opportunities for the enemy’s accusations. Maintaining the practice of a daily examination of conscience really helps. One thing I’ve also been noticing is the very real relationship between body and spirit. In my efforts to lose weight and exercise, I’ve noticed that the self-discipline of the body carries over to the self-discipline of the soul. Reigning by body in makes my will stronger, which helps to resist temptation and maintain fortitude in the spiritual life. But then, I guess Jesus had a few things to say about that, i.e. fasting! Keep up your writing, Kayla. It seems you have inherited your mom’s gifts! ~ Mary

    • ~Kay~ said,

      Thanks, Mary! That’s very encouraging. I’m constantly surprised by just how connected the physical and spiritual really are…

  4. Andun said,

    It’s flabbergasting what we’ll sometimes clutch tighter than the One Who carries us. Without a second thought, we’ll check Facebook or fire up a video game or turn on a movie or occupy ourselves with a cacophony of other unnecessary distractions rather than face the piercing silence before the throne of God. I’m immeasurably grateful that He, at least, is holding me with both hands (John 10:28-30).

    • ~Kay~ said,

      Thanks for sharing! What a great conclusion.

Join the Discussion

