Chile – Day Six

June 25, 2014 at 5:38 pm (Missions) (, , , , , , , , )

image

Our schedule today got a little mixed up when the school called to cancel our puppet show appearance. I was a little miffed at first, because we had practiced for the puppet show, but when the baking workshop began for the women, we were surprised!

The women brought all their children, for a total of 16 kids! We really wanted the women to be able to focus on sharing with each other, so we offered to watch the kids for them. If that show had not been cancelled, we would not have been there to take all those kids out of the way! Just another bus-stop-blessing. The crew leading the women’s workshop said that many good, tearful stories were shared and ministry flowed freely throughout the afternoon. They were so grateful that we were able to keep the kids occupied, so the women could focus on each other. We also got the chance to invite all those kids to stay for VBS.

Meanwhile, the part of our team not helping with the baking or babysitting was hard at work on the mural. It’s all sketched out and paint is being applied. We’re excited to see how it will look when it is complete.

In other news, I have a fever! Thankfully I also have ibuprofen, but today was tough to get through. I did not have time to teach someone else how to lead the lesson for our VBS Day 2, so I just held off the fever with the drugs and tried to look as excited as I would have if I were not sick. As yucky as I feel, though, this cold is revealing to me an attitude I didn’t realize I was carrying. I’m reminded that, as self-reliant as I felt when we began this trip, God is the one working in and through me to make the ministry here a success. I shouldn’t be depending on my own strength and wisdom for ministry. I should be leaning on God, remembering that it is “in Him I live and move and have my being” (Acts 17:28). Thank you for your prayers!

 

Join the Discussion

